PDA

View Full Version : Help/Review a oneshot idea

joekidd
2019-09-01, 06:52 PM
Ok, so with the holidays on the way, and the chances of getting the whole gaming group together declining I'm starting to get a couple of oneshot ready. I was planning on running a call of cthulhu game, and while I've run the system before this is my first time writing a senario, so I wanted to get some pointers, criticisms, and a couple of ideas for the things I haven't quite figured out yet.
The basic idea behind the senario is a groundhog day loop taking place over a holiday work party. The game will start with all the players getting into an elevator together, being last minute arrivals or employees who stepped out for a smoke they'll get off together and join the party. For the first twenty minutes to half an hour they'll have do deal with a normal holiday party trying to impress an out of touch boss, rubbing elbows with the coworkers they hate, etc. i still have to write it out but I'm more concerned with the mythos mechanics right now. So at the end of the party part the boss will get everyone attention and give a speech (thanks, for the hard work, record year, etc, etc) he'll be intupted half way through by a door being broken down and the monsters of the senario breaking in and killing everyone then the game will restart with the elevator reaching the floor and the players rejoining the party but be the only ones who remember what happened then the rest of the game will be them trying to break the time loop or go crazy trying.
The party will become a demi plane the elevators won't work the stairwells will just open to an endless pit and if the players manage to see or make it the cityscape there won't be any people and the city will end into nothingness anywhere that cant be seen from the windows of the office party