PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Ideas for war in a non-magic campaign (5e).

kafka-the-wild
2019-09-18, 03:32 PM
I am new here so I apologize in advance if this isn't the proper place to inquire about this.

Some backstory: So I have been running a non-magic 5e campaign with my SO for a few months now and to be honest everything is going well so far. There are only three races (human, tabaxi and dragons) which have been edited and do not possess any magical capabilities as well as the classes have been altered so magic has been removed and other abilities take their place for balance. There are 3 kingdoms in this world and the human kingdom (they are the largest by far) has declared war on the dragon kingdom (who is very small). Dragons are still very powerful yet they are not that common and live mostly in their secluded area.

My only issue is that, at some point, my SO's main character will be heading into the war zone and I am horribly lost for ideas on how to either run a war or have other adventures which do not have their character directly involved.

I am very aware that 5e is heavily based on magic since I am also a player as well, which makes running a non-magic campaign ever more difficult.

Any ideas/existing content would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

ChamHasNoRoom
2019-09-18, 03:56 PM
What is the PC actually doing in the war zone? Why are they going there? If they don't have any particular reason to actually go to a battlefield, then the extent of their interaction with the war zone might be that villages are often sacked and abandoned, banditry is more common as unmoored survivors of these village raids turn to violence to feed themselves since their farms were pillaged, and food is much harder to come by as foraging armies suck up everything nearby. If all they're doing is incidentally passing through a location at war, though, there's no reason to actually walk into an ongoing battle.

kafka-the-wild
2019-09-19, 08:05 PM