PDA

View Full Version : Eldritch Knight build question

Mwhawk2
2019-10-04, 10:02 PM
I’m working on a n EK build for a long, home brew campaign my buddy is working on and I’m torn between building a Fire Genasi (for the +2 CON and +1 INT) or a Variant Human(extra feat, plus 1 to all stats) or a Levistus Tiefling(plus 2 to CHAR and +1 to INT). Im thinking of making him a polearm or great sword fighter, but not sure which synergizes best with EK (if at all). Does anyone have any experience with EK? I’m not 100% sold on the racial or weapon options, so if you’re u have had experiences with a non-standard build, please share. Thus will be my first fighter, so I’m a noob to this class and I want to build a character that isn’t pigeon holed into being an effective combatant but crappy in RP or great in melee but lacking in range /defensive options. Just seeking a unique yet balanced build. Any suggestions? Again this is a home brew campaign, we will be starting at level 2 and working our stats out via point buy (which I hate lol) any help or comments are greatly appreciated!

claypigeons
2019-10-04, 11:55 PM
Eldritch Knight can be very tanky, and in some level ranges can truly lay down the hurt compared to other classes.

EKs work very well with the SCAG Blade cantrips (booming blade, green flame blade), especially at 7th level with War Magic.

Take spells like Shield, Haste, Absorb Elements, etc. If you don't take spells that require a save, you can safely dump intelligence and focus on STR and/or DEX.

Variant human is a solid choice for the bonus feat. Great Weapon Master can serve you very well. Ritual Caster can even let you pretend to be a poor man's wizard if your party doesn't have one.

Definitely think about War Caster later to have your weapon act as your focus.

Tanarii
2019-10-05, 02:19 AM