PDA

View Full Version : Need some World-Tweaking advice. (Casa Thorn players please stay out)

Warchon
2019-10-26, 02:06 AM
Preface: Anyone at my upcoming table, Casa Thorn, if you stumble into this thread please exit now as this contains spoilers. Hestus, Ozzy and Kaylee I'm looking at you.

Okay, now that I've cleared out my players.

I'm a newbie DM who has offered to run a one-shot or brief campaign while our usual DM is adjusting to some life changes. I'm going to be running a game in the Wendy's TTRPG setting, chosen for simplicity and novelty. I've managed to walk my players through character generation without tipping them off to what we're actually playing, as I want it to be a surprise.
The ruleset is essentially a pared down 5e, like D&D with training wheels. My difficulty comes from some players who have chosen dark and gritty background stories. I'm happy to customize the setting to fit, but I'm at a loss at how to deal with my healer and could use advice.

The player nicknamed his character "Redsleeves," and envisions her often elbow deep in gore in plying her trade. The dissonance comes from the way healing and hp work in this world.
HP stands for Hunger Points, and downed characters are "incapacitated with hunger." Healing is literally handled with on the fly snacking. This is hard to defend, since monsters still use the standard claw and bite attacks, or wield giant cutlery to bash you with, but that's how it's written.
The player already knows that he's getting an alerted version of his requested Goddess Mishakal (Feed the Hungry, as opposed to Heal the Injured) but doesn't know the details. I could similarly reorient his justification for his nickname in the same manner--a zealous food-mage, her sleeves are often drenched in ketchup and other sauces--but while the Goddess change is a lateral step, this feels more like entirely hijacking the intent of the character.