PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Challenge Rating Explained

blackjack50
2019-12-10, 08:56 AM
So I tend to have relatively underpowered NPCs in my game. Mostly because the players I’ve played with are newer and I am still new to DMing. So. With that said, I’d like a little help on CR.

I get the basic concept. It is when one starts to throw in multiple enemies that I get lost. So here is my understanding. Please tell me if I am off base:

CR3 Enemy = A challenge for 4 players Level 3

(Here is where I am lost)

CR 1 + CR 2 Enemy = CR3 Enemy (roughly)

4 CR 1/4 Enemy + 2 CR1 Enemy = CR3 Enemy (roughly)

Is this the appropriate formula I should be using? Or is there a different variation for groups?

Cheesegear
2019-12-10, 09:08 AM
Is this the appropriate formula I should be using? Or is there a different variation for groups?

Encounters get more difficult the more hostiles there are in the encounter, because the players' action economy is still fixed. A Level 3 Fighter, who hasn't got Extra Attack yet, finds fighting two easier hostiles, much harder than fighting one single hostile, even if those hostiles have a lower individual CR. And then when he does have Extra Attack, 3 hostiles is harder than 2, etc.

The DMG, on page 82, gives you the table used to calculate the modifier for CR on encounters that contain more than one hostile.

CR 1 + CR 2 Enemy = CR3 Enemy (roughly)

Actually, it'd be CR4.5

4 CR 1/4 Enemy + 2 CR1 Enemy = CR3 Enemy (roughly)

A CR3 group containing 6 hostiles, would actually be an encounter CR6.

blackjack50
2019-12-10, 09:49 AM
Encounters get more difficult the more hostiles there are in the encounter, because the players' action economy is still fixed. A Level 3 Fighter, who hasn't got Extra Attack yet, finds fighting two easier hostiles, much harder than fighting one single hostile, even if those hostiles have a lower individual CR. And then when he does have Extra Attack, 3 hostiles is harder than 2, etc.