PDA

View Full Version : Ranged combat build help

Aldo8880
2019-12-14, 01:55 AM
Hello all!

I’m new to 5e, having played a bastardized version of AD&D as a kid. I’m a chronic character creator for fun. I enjoy optimizing builds and looking for fun synergies.

As the title says, the next character I want to make is an “archer” build. My original thought was to make a Gloomstalker/Battlemaster mix. Shooting arrows to trip opponents or using the other maneuvers sounded like a good time. Then I happened upon the multiclassing guide and it gave me some more ideas to muddy the water. I’d be using the new UA rules for Ranger, they seem to be a big improvement.

I chose wood elf for the dex/wis bonus, and my rolled stats were 11/17+2/15/5/17+1/9. In planning out the character progression I wanted to start as a fighter for all the proficiencies and go to level 2 for action surge. Then jump into ranger to level 3 for the Gloomstalker archetype, then back to fighter for the remainder. I didn’t like that path because it delayed ASI/feat for so long and it felt like it would be a slow
progression.

My next path was to start ranger and go to level 4 for GS and to get the Elven Accuracy feat. That seemed like it would be a big boost to my attacking, and with all the extra dice that can be added on, the crit-fishing seems like it would be really valuable. I could use zephyr strike to give myself advantage and add more damage dice. Then I would bounce back to fighter and finish out in that class, for all the attacks and ASIs. Or should I stick to Ranger 5 for the extra attack and then go to Fighter?

Then I saw the suggestion in the multi-classing guide to also dip into Rogue 3 for assassination, for auto-crits on surprise attacks, near constant advantage, sneak attack, and cunning action aim if I need to. And then into fighter for all those attacks. This seemed like a really strong path, but it puts all the fighter goodies further out of reach.