PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Paladin Subclass! Balancing Help/Theme Narrowing

Jell
2020-01-01, 09:14 AM
Hello!

I am fairly new to D&D as a whole and especially to attempting to make homebrews, but here goes. This is mostly a result of my wanting a Paladin Oath that fit my current Paladin - not as ruthless as Vengeance or Conquest, not as exemplar as Devotion, and not as cheerful as Ancients. This Paladin resides somewhere in between, spending time investigating people's concerns with misunderstood or unseen threats like outsiders and necromancers, rounding up a posse to deal with those threats, and leading by being responsible and prepared. Due to the anti-outsider theme and the idea that this Paladin would likely be at home traveling the road/dealing with threats on the fringes of civilization, I ended up emulating a touch of a Ranger theme.

Here it is!

Oath of the Vigilant
Paladins who swear the Oath of the Vigilant dedicate themselves to a near-fanatical watchfulness, remaining ever-alert to beings that are threats to civilization should they be allowed to gain a foothold, such as fiends and the undead. While these paladins oftentimes must march to the fringes of society to hunt down the outsiders and necromancers that summon these dangers, they best perform their roles by establishing relationships with the people, who themselves watch for threats to their livelihoods. Often, these paladins can be found leading small groups of followers across continents in search of their foes, rather than leading armies or serving authorities.

Tenets of the Vigilant
The tenets of the Oath of the Vigilant urge the Paladin to find balance between protecting the realm and seeking outsider and undead threats wherever they may hide.

Listen to Every Plea. Even the most vigilant cannot see all, but the people who guard their homes and their nations are ever-watchful, wary of the unnatural, and seek champions. Heed their cries.