PDA

View Full Version : Player Help Questions for first build from a complete beginner

Guwi
2020-01-02, 05:37 PM
So I just started playing dnd last night with some friends and would like to create a quite specific build. If anyone could guild me in doing so that would be appreciated.
The build I would like is a wizard that has a staff that can freely control glass as long as he has the right amount (he starts with 30 pounds in his sack). This is a staff and he would be able to use this in a ton of situations as you can imagine. The end goal for him would be to go to space and create a death star like space station and blow up the planet before the other players can get off.
If anyone knows the optimal skill set and/or build with stats that would be cool.
Keep in mind im a complete beginner and am open to anything

Allanimal
2020-01-02, 06:57 PM
Yes, that is a quite specific build...
First off, it depends a lot on what sources are available.
I’m assuming since you posted in the 3.5/pathfinder forum, and mentioned d&d specifically, you are talking about d&d 3.5.

At early levels, there isn’t a lot you can do to manipulate glass, and using a staff to do it, at early levels, would just be fluff. Later on, magical staffs and rune staffs can contain spells, but generally nothing you couldn’t cast anyway as a wizard, so it isn’t absolutely needed.

Creating a Planet-destroying space station is problematic, because while there are rules for just about everything in d&d 3.5, space travel is not something I am aware of. Maybe there is a dragon magazine article that covers it, or you could pilfer from D20 modern / future rules.

I’m sure someone has a TO idea of how a wizard can destroy a planet, with some sort of energy beam even, but the chances are slim that a DM will allow it, unless you are playing an epic campaign where that sort of thing isn’t out of the ordinary.