PDA

View Full Version : D&D 3.x Other Boss Monster - UPDATED Mournfallow, the Great Tree

BasilicaNero
2020-01-07, 12:13 PM
https://i.imgur.com/x2FogjE.jpg https://i.imgur.com/Opx80nn.jpg

I am currently the DM for a long running game (off and on for 8+ years). I took over for our 'forever DM' a little while ago and in an effort to give as close to a true player experience to him as possible so I try very hard to not ask him for help and I have been doing pretty well.

The current party is a party of 4, all at 8th level and are nearing the end of a long dungeon crawl. They have been clearing an ancient druid temple/fortress currently serving as a base for bandits who have harnessed a powerful artifact to allow them to teleport. At the top of the Fortress they will find the source of that power is actually being harvested from an ancient slumbering Living Tree which possessed (possesses) the ability to planehop.

I have never built a custom monster before so this is my first attempt. I have built a model for the creature and here are two pictures of it for inspiration and scale.

The encounter will involve them facing off against the remnants of the bandit gang forming a last stand at the top of the fortress. If certain conditions are met the tree (which is also up there) will awaken. The party will have options for how they handle the encounter such as allying themselves with the tree or possibly fight it so I need the tree fully statted out. It's main schtick is that its has no move speed: its roots run deep throughout the fortress and the party has encountered the roots on every level.

I used a post here called " 3.5 Monster Making for the Feeble Minded" as my guide.

Any advice or encouragement is appreciated:

Original Stat Block:

Mournfallow, the Great Tree
Gargantuan Plant Outsider (Extraplanar)
Hit Dice 12D8 (147)
Speed 0 ft. (0 squares)
Initiative: +0
Armor Class 20 (+10 Natural); touch 10; flat-footed 20
Base Attack/Grapple +9 / +27