PDA

View Full Version : Need help creating a core grappler

Enochi
2007-10-23, 02:46 PM
Hi I'm fairly new to the DnD world and am groping around trying to create my first character. I would like to create a grappling build but am insure if want I have is fesible or not. The DMs at my store prefer to stick to core but they are willing to allow me to be a Goliath and may allow some feats and classes from complete warrior. Here is the build I have so far.

Goliath:
+4 to Strength
+2 to Con
-2 to Dex

Effectively large size.

Level 1: Sorcerer
Enlarge Person, Power Attack

Level 2: Monk
Improved Grapple, Improved Unarmed

Level 3: Monk
Combat Reflexes, Earth's Embrace, Evasion

Level 4: Monk
Still Mind

Level 5: Monk
Ki Strike

Level 6: Dragon Disciple
Natural Armour Increase +1
Weapon Focus (Grapple)

Level 7: Dragon Disciple
+ 2 Str, Claws and Bite

Level 8: Dragon Disciple
Breath Weapon

Level 9: Dragon Disciple
+ 2 Str, +2 Natural Armour, Crushing Hug

Grapple Bonuses
+4 Improved Grapple
+6 BAB
+8 Huge
+11 Str Bonus
+1 Weapon Focus Grapple
= +30 to Grapple Check

Damage from Grapple Check (2d8+22)+pin(1d12)

shadowdemon_lord
2007-10-23, 03:00 PM
Weapon focus requires a BAB of +1, no taking that till third level in your current build. Going fighter/barbarian would give you a higher grapple check, but less damage output. I don't think you'll normaly feel the need for a higher bonus though, considering your heavy focus on grappling. You'll want to add Power Attack into that build at some point, more damage is always a good thing.

Dode
2007-10-23, 03:04 PM
Well, since this isn't really core since it has Complete Warrior feats and Goliaths in it already, you might consider checking out the Duskblade (taking Arcane Disciple: Strength Domain to get access to Enlarge Person) and be able to get a full BAB caster that can wear light armor and cast touch spells when it makes its grapple. Duskblade/Barbarian Goliath would be... formidable.

Enochi
2007-10-23, 05:51 PM