PDA

View Full Version : Poll: How long and for often have you played in games without multiclassing OR feats?

Deathtongue
2020-03-22, 12:45 PM
Note: this isn't supposed to be judging the style, this highly informal poll is just to see where things sit. If you think your situation is unusual (i.e. you play a lot of Adventurer's League) it'd be helpful to note it.

As far as my situation? I play about 50% of games face-to-face AL, 40% of online home games organized on apps like Roll20/Facebook/Meetup.com, and 10% face-to-face home games. I've been playing since 2016 and took an 8-month break that I ended two months ago. Except for the break I averaged a little more than a game a week, even in our current health situation.

During that time, I have never played in a game without multiclassing or feats. Never. Granted, I would not have stuck around for a game that didn't, but the DMs never even floated the possibility. The non-AL DMs had session zeroes devoted to topics like violent content and sandboxing and theme and homebrew options, but multiclassing and feats were always assumed.

Now, I have been with some DMs who don't care for theoretical excesses of multiclassing and would rather it not be there, but I have never experienced an out-an-out ban.

ad_hoc
2020-03-22, 12:51 PM
Now, I have been with some DMs who don't care for theoretical excesses of multiclassing and would rather it not be there, but I have never experienced an out-an-out ban.

Not using optional rules isn't a ban.

It's simply not adding in extra rules.

nickl_2000
2020-03-22, 12:56 PM
Never banned outright for either.

Multi-classing has been restricted to logical to the PC and the story (I.e. there has to be a reason for a dip or a PC taking levels in cleric domain needs to be following a Diety where that make sense).