PDA

View Full Version : Deliberating switching to 5th

Shocksrivers
2020-04-20, 04:26 AM
Dear fellow GiTP-ers from across the great divide,

I hail from the olden lands, the lands of 3.5 and... I will drop this affect now.

Hi, I am a long time TTRPG'er and have been playing 3.5 since I started playing DnD in 2012, with a group of very inexperienced players.

We have had the odd person dropping out, or joining briefly, and a character or two retire because they were boring, but overall we have been playing for around 7-8 years with a group of 5 core players and characters. As we mastered the system, we expanded what books we could use, unhindered by prior knowledge about them, leading to rather complicated multiclassed/prestigeclassed characters for the mundanes (including the dreaded and amazing ToB).

We are a very casual group, just a fighter, a druid, a fireballing sorcerer and a swashbuckling-swordsaging-rogue-thing. How casual are we? The fighter is easily the strongest character and until really recently, the druid was the worst... We play a little under twice a month.

First, we all DM'ed in turn, to let everyone experience both sides of the screen, and to let everyone add to the world and story. Because people didn't really know the rules that well, I was always a sort of back-seat rules DM, where they could ask me how something was supposed to go. If they just made something up that worked as well, we just went with that, and I wouldn't contradict the DM on rulings, especially in tense or exiting situations. This worked fine for a while, and then I took over DM'ing to bring all the loose stories together in an overarching plot.