PDA

View Full Version : Vista Tweaking Tips?

Muz
2007-10-26, 10:38 AM
Okay, so I just got a laptop, and it's got Vista Home Premium on it. I'm now in the process of searching the web for tips on how to tweak it so it runs efficiently and doesn't have things going on that I don't need. Anyone out there with tips?

(And I'm fairly computer literate, at the level of an experienced amateur, self-taught with most stuff. I've never used Vista before, however, so it's time for me to learn some more!) :smallsmile:

Crispy Dave
2007-10-26, 10:40 AM
heres an idea dont get vista with your new computer unless it had a video card dx 10 compadible and at least 2 gigs of ram

Muz
2007-10-26, 11:14 AM
Um, yeah, I'm unable to alter time, so that doesn't help me much since I already bought the thing. :smallwink:

(Though it does have both, at least.)

Skippy
2007-10-26, 11:21 AM
Uninstall Vista and install Linux.

You'll be doing yourself a favor.

I recommend Ubuntu 7.04, it's easy to use and not as resource-consumer as Vista. And it looks awesome, even more than Vista... (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xC5uEe5OzNQ)

Crispy Dave
2007-10-26, 11:23 AM
problem with linix is no games

Skippy
2007-10-26, 11:26 AM
problem with linix is no games

Not quite true. There are some Windows-emuling programs like Wine that enable you to run Windows applications in Linux.

Besides, have another look on what Linux can do, and Windows can't. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ALqduQfm09c)

Moriato
2007-10-26, 11:32 AM
Don't use the sidebar, it's a huge resource hog.

valadil
2007-10-26, 11:32 AM
Much as I love pimping linux (and I'd go with ubuntu 7.10 instead of 7.04), the topic is supposed to be about vista tweaking tips.