PDA

View Full Version : Most FUN classes!

Snadgeros
2007-10-27, 12:35 AM
For a breath of fresh air from all of the "overpowered wizard" and "useless monk" DnD tier topics, I'd like to ask you all a question. I'm relatively new to DnD since my DMs usually crap out before the first session. I've made many characters, but only actually gotten to level this one (a monk, shut up). Now then, I forsee many future campaigns with my current group and would like to hear YOUR recommendations! So without further ado:

What class do you think is the most FUN to play and why? Don't just say wizard/cleric/druid and give "They kick ass!" as a reason. I want what's fun to roleplay as well as leads to funny combat situations.

Example: I'm enjoying my monk quite a lot. Even if it doesn't turn out for the best, the idea of needing virtually no equipment is highly appealing. Unarmed damage leads to graphic and disturbing descriptions by our DM of how I knee a wolf in the face so his head explodes or how my flurrying fists cave in the goblin's skull. It's a lot more fun than when the sorceror uses shocking grasp and the description consists of "The monster screams in pain and explodes." Finally, as far as roleplaying goes, I can't say much about him since I actually stole part of his backstory from Final Fantasy VI (I promise I'll be more creative with my next character!)

I'm thinking of rolling up a bossy Russian paladin for my next character. What do you guys think?

P.S. NO ELVES! I don't like them. :smallmad:

VerdugoExplode
2007-10-27, 12:45 AM
My favorite thus far has been a crusader from the Tome of Battle book. You start out as a usual low level personality but slowly, with minimal need for any hardcore optimization, become a force of reckoning on the battlefield.