PDA

View Full Version : Undead Army Quantity Check - Level 5 Cleric

Delta_tea
2020-06-21, 09:40 PM
Hi All. I'm hoping to have my math checked. This is my first time running Undead in 3.5 so I want to be sure I'm doing the numbers right.

Items potentially used:

Rod of Undead Mastery (10000g, Libris Mortis, p 78)
Rod of Defiance (13000g, Libris Mortis)
Scepter of the Underworld (9000g, Libris Mortis)
Lyre of the Restful Soul (3000g, Libris Mortis)

Domains & Feat potentially used:

Deathbound Domain (Spell Compendium)
ACF: Domain Focus (Dragon 347)
Fel Animate Feat (Libris Mortis)

Level 5 Cleric
Animate Dead – 20 HD max total (4x5 levels)
Per creature: pre-skeleton 20 HD, pre-zombie 10 HD (becomes 20 HD)
Single cast limit, 5*2 = 10 HD

Advanced
Rod of Undead Mastery – doubles HD limit – 20 HD → 40 HD

Deathbound domain – control 50% more undead
ACF: Domain Focus – Sacrifice one domain to double effect on another. DBD goes to 100% more. With RoUM 40HD → 80 HD

Animate Dead – Zombie Dragon, no HD limits, just need to find a dead dragon
Silver Zombie comes with paralysis breath

Discounting the cost, 25g per HD adds up, so these are ideas on how to get discounts on Animating
Fel Animate Feat, 3+1 Turn Undead charges with DMM – FA needs the killing blow and limits HD of the zombie(s) created to twice caster level HD per use. 10HD

Night Caller (7000g) – creates up to 2 zombies per use, use once per week

Rubuke/Commanded – 5 HD max total (5 levels)
Advanced
Rod of Undead Mastery – should doubles HD limit – 5 HD → 10 HD

Rod of Defiance – All creatures treated as 4 HD fewer, min 1 HD. AKA ~9HD max

5 HD → 1 HD, so 5 HD is actually 5x5=25 HD worth (best value)
9 HD → 5 HD, or you can have 1x 9 HD Undead

Scepter of the Underworld – Like RoD only 3 HD fewer, min 1 HD. Can it be double wielded with RoD?

5 HD → 1 HD, so 5 HD is actually 5x5=25 HD worth
8HD → 1 HD, so 5 HD is actually 5x8 = 40 HD worth (best value)
12 HD → 5 HD, or you can have 1x 12 HD Undead