PDA

View Full Version : The Hedge Mage: a caster class for 5e

Tanfoglio
2020-08-31, 08:06 PM
Hello! So I love cantrips, almost as much as I love casting a spell every turn, so after a lot of work and consideration I present a new class for review. I've tried to keep it balanced and fun, and I'd like to see what you all think. Here it goes...

The Hedge Mage
An alternate class for 5th edition

Level
Proficency bonus
Features
Cantrips known
1st
2nd
3rd
4th
5th
6th

1st
Spellcasting
-
-
-
-
-

2nd
Wand Crafting
-
-
-
-
-

3rd
-
-
-
-
-
-

4th
Ability Score Improvement
-
-
-
-

5th
Arcane Division (2)
-
-
-
-

6th
Wand Crafting Improvement
-
-
-
-

7th
-
-
-
-
-

8th
-
-
-

9th
-
-
-
-

10th
Rod Crafting
-
-
-

11th
Arcane Division (3)
-
-

12th
-
-

13th
-
-
-

14th
Rod Crafting Improvement
-

15th
-
-

16th
-

17th
Arcane Division (4)

18th
Staff Crafting

19th

20th
Arcane Division (full)

Not all wizards dwell in magical towers or secretive colleges. The Hedge Mage is a self-taught wizard with little to no formal training. Some lacked the raw potential, some were overlooked by any who could train them, some simply could not afford the tuition. What all hedge mages have in common is their dedication to magic and their stubborn tenacity. Hedge mages lack the raw power of a properly trained spellcaster, but they have learned to use what they have to its fullest. Hedge mages possess a wide array of spells gathered from blind experimentation and anywhere they could learn or copy. They can often be found wandering, searching for a place to practice what they know or learn new magics.

Class Features
A Hedge Mage gains the following class features

Hit Points
Hit Dice: 1d6 per hedge mage level
Hit Points at 1st Level: 6+ Constitution modifier
Hit Points at Higher levels: 1d6 (or 4)+ Constitution modifier per hedge mage level after first

Proficiencies
Armor: Light Armor
Weapons: Daggers, Darts, Slings, Quarterstaffs, Light crossbows
Tools: None