PDA

View Full Version : Silliness, but I'm asking.

TheHud
2020-09-01, 02:38 PM
As I mentioned before, I am somewhat new to 5th edition and am DM for my kids. My son loves llamas, and has an oversized llama as his mount (he helped raise it). The party recently acquired a Headband of Intellect and is my son wondering if he can have the llama wear it. I understand it needs to be attuned to work. Not sure if/how to allow this. Looking for interesting ideas/loops my son could jump through to make it happen. If it did work, I understand I would have a animal NPC to control as well...seriously thinking that it will want to become a monk eventually.

Waterdeep Merch
2020-09-01, 02:44 PM
There's sidekick rules that you could apply to let the llama become a useful ally in battle. A final version's coming in an upcoming book, but there was an Unearthed Arcana article (link here (https://media.wizards.com/2018/dnd/downloads/UA_Sidekicks.pdf)) it will be based on that doesn't appear like it will see many changes. Treat them like somewhere between an NPC and a PC, depending on the moment and scene- let your son control their llama buddy in fights, but the llama's personality and attitude is more like that of an NPC.

TheHud
2020-09-01, 02:48 PM
- let your son control their llama buddy in fights, but the llama's personality and attitude is more like that of an NPC.

Thanks for the link. That is pretty much what I was thinking play wise. As to how to get the headband working on a llama, I am kind of stumped.

firelistener
2020-09-01, 02:48 PM
This thread was asking basically the same question lol. It's funny how often something like this must come up at different tables.
https://forums.giantitp.com/showthread.php?617020-non-intelligent-creatures-and-item-attunement-(by-RAW)&highlight=Headband+of+intellect