PDA

View Full Version : Upcast Major Image + Malleable Illusions + Illusory Reality?

Yakmala
2020-09-07, 03:12 PM
I'm not new to playing Wizards but I am new to Illusionists and I have some questions about how the combo listed in the title actually works.

Major image can create something as large as a 20' cube. If you upcast it using a 6th level slot, the illusion is permanent until dispelled with no concentration required.

Malleable Illusions allows me to use my action to change the nature of an illusion I cast.

Illusory Reality allows me to turn an illusion or portion of an illusion that I cast real, as long as it is a non-magical, inanimate object that deals no damage. This lasts for 1 minute, but there is no limit on the number of times Illusory Reality can be used.

So, given all of that...

Can Illusory Reality be used more than once per illusion, assuming the illusion is still around. In other words, can I make my permanent major image real for 1 minute, then a minute later, use my bonus action again to keep it real? The text of the ability states "You can do this on your turn as a bonus action while the spell is ongoing." which seems to imply this might be the case, but the text does not specifically say one way or the other if it can be maintained in this manner.

If the above is true, does this mean that I could, for example, Make a permanent Major Image of a small marble, which I then make real and keep in my hand or pocket, and at a later time, use Malleable Illusions to turn it into a bridge or heavy boulder or whatever other inanimate object I need it to be, and then, when done, use Malleable Illusions again to change it back into a marble and take it with me?

Major Image states that I can use an action to move the image anywhere within the 120' range. That leads to two additional questions that are potentially in opposition to one another.