PDA

View Full Version : Player Help How to effectively use battlefield control spells?

Halphinian
2020-09-23, 01:41 AM
I have been playing DnD for a couple years now, and after neglecting them for most of that time, I have finally decided to build a character around the concept of battlefield control spells. I really like the idea behind them, a character who can change the tide of battle with a couple of simple spells, and help their allies by making combat much harder for my opponents. However, I will admit, I am not very good with tactics. So, which spells (specifically druid spells) would be best for this kind of strategy, and how can I use them effectively without accidentally hurting my allies' ability to fight or having a spell become useless from bad placement? Also, after looking through some of the spells, I have noticed some synergies with other spells (i.e. Blood Snow + Obscuring Snow/Drifts of the Shalm), are there any more synergies like this?

For context, my character is a 4th level anthropomorphic toad druid with the Greenbound Summoning, Spell Focus (conj), and Animal Affinity feats. The other people in my party are a lurk, a crusader, a shaper, a warblade, and a sorcerer that focuses on fire spells. All help is appreciated!:smallsmile:

Venger
2020-09-23, 02:35 AM
eggynack's druid handbook (https://forums.giantitp.com/showthread.php?439991-Being-Everything-Eggynack-s-Comprehensive-Druid-Handbook) will tell you everything you could ever want to know about being a druid, including bfc spells.

As far as 1st and 2nd lvl bfc specifically, she recommends:
1:
blockade
darsson's cooling breeze
entangle
impeding stones
spore field
wall of smoke

2:
blood snow
briar web
drifts of the shalm
fog cloud
obscuring snow
soften earth and stone
trip vine

and there are plenty more besides, like fog cloud, obscuring mist, and wind wall.