PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Enlightened Warrior 5e wizard PEACH

Seekergeek
2020-10-19, 11:23 AM
This is my first attempt at any serious homebrew. Doing it up for a player who wants something gishy but is not interested in the bladesinger or eldritch knight. I won't be playing it, but DMing opposite it and just want a set of eyes on it that aren't my own. I'm not sensitive so have at it.

https://homebrewery.naturalcrit.com/share/1b_sFfw2UnKC

Garfunion
2020-10-19, 06:46 PM
When it comes to full caster gish, a lot of it comes down to roleplaying an illusionary sword when casting your spell, not game mechanics.

What about the paladin class? If you ignore the “divine” warrior lore/story of the class, I makes a good swordmage class. It’s smite spells are very gish like. Pick up magic initiate feat and booming blade and greenflame blade cantrips.

For your archetype,

Arcane Weapon
Seems ok, it is basically a melee version of Eldritch Blast cantrip.

Arcane Ward
Is to powerful to me. Just give the archetype the blade ward cantrip and allow the wizard to cast it as a bonus action. As for the elemental resistance, absorb elements is a better spell to use.

Arcane Strike
This needs to be limited to 5th level spells max, like the paladin smite feature.

Arcane Surge
Is to powerful, just copy the fights action surge feature instead.

Another alternative is to make Arcane Weapon feature into a cantrip and have the player pick the School of War Magic.

Seekergeek
2020-10-19, 08:39 PM
I take all your points.

I wanted to keep away from just making a cantrip for the arcane blade to try and tie it to class level rather than character level, and agree that it is probably the least problematic part of the design.