PDA

View Full Version : War Cleric or not...

DeShurland
2020-10-20, 08:25 AM
Hello,

In a bit of a quandary. About to start Princes of the Apocalypse (on Roll20). Rolled my numbers (17,15,13,12,12,10) but I have no idea what to do. I was tempted by a cleric, as I quite like hitting things, (Tempest or War seem obvious) but I also quite like a bit of control (Played a bard and he was quite good fun)

My concern with war, is that it seems to be spiritual weapon and spirt guardian spamming. I don't really fancy casting the same 2 spells as soon as combat begins.

FYI, I am not very good at the charisma side of RP, and I am a terrible face, my bard gets by as there are 2 paladins in the party.

Is war actually good? It looks combat heavy 1-4, and then spell focused 5+... which is fine as I would have 20 WIS.

RogueJK
2020-10-20, 09:54 AM
My concern with war, is that it seems to be spiritual weapon and spirt guardian spamming.

That's the go-to for nearly all melee Clerics. The combo is just that good. If you really want to irk your DM, get your AC high with a shield and heavy armor, activate Spiritual Weapon/Spirit Guardians, wade into the front lines so a bunch of enemies are in your aura, and then take the Dodge action rather than the Attack action, relying on your Bonus Action Spiritual Weapon to attack each round. You'll still dish out a ton of damage per round, but rarely get hit, and even more rarely lose Concentration.

Is war actually good?