PDA

View Full Version : DM Help How to engage very "technical" players? (STEM profile :D)

HoboKnight
2020-12-22, 09:18 AM
Hey, guys,

so in my group I have a few people, who are very engaged in my campaign. Toss at them an interesting NPC, a hurt animal or general injustice and they'll just gobble it up. They are really invested in the game. We also have "the tech guy". This guy does not attach to NPCs. He is a physicist by profession and approaches everything "very technically". He optimizes the game, which is fine, but also optimizes "the meta-game" in terms of social interaction. I'll toss a bleeding squirrel on a path of PCs and most will get totally engaged, while this guy is completelly unphased. He is calm and polite, but I have a strong feeling, I am unable to create "a stake" for him in the game. Something, that will make his eyes light up. I bet most of you know such players - people that deem all is mathematically calculable and that even people's relations run like this. I'd really really like to present a challenge for the party, that would make this guy go "woah, I REALLY want to engage this". As such profiles, he likes puzzles and such, but, if I give another example - you know, when you make a random NPC and party totally "adopts" it? Well, this guy does not. What makes such profiles "tick"? I know I can make party laugh or cry with all sorts of shenanignas, but with these types of players ... how do I do it?

One more example - he is the kind of a guy who took upon himslef a role of a "tank", because "party needed one"(he is a team player - too much in this aspect even). He sort of enjoys his PC, but IMO not all that much (but he will never admit it). How do I get through to such a profile player?

As probably noticed, he is completelly fine to play with ... I'd just like to create some proper "hooks" for him - personally and make more interesting for him.

thanks!

DeTess
2020-12-22, 12:21 PM