PDA

View Full Version : Paladin of Redemption?

GreyBlack
2021-01-07, 09:05 PM
Hey y'all! So I'm starting Descent into Avernus with a new group of players, and I'm actually a player this time! Unfortunately, pre-lockdown, I had actually been running this particular game with a group of players at my FLGS, so a lot of the plot has been spoiled for me. I'm pretty good at keeping my in-character knowledge separate from my out-of-character knowledge, though, so that's not going to really ruin my fun.

That said... it did get me thinking that I wanted to try and run a Redemption Paladin in an attempt to get a specific ending. That said, I have very little experience with the Redemption Paladin, so I was wondering if I could get some recommendations on how to play it. Has anyone ever tried playing the Redemption Paladin? Any tips or tricks? I'm currently level 1, so I haven't taken the Oath yet, but I'm enjoying the RP of it, and the rest of the players are on board so far.

RSP
2021-01-07, 09:47 PM
Redeemers aren’t pacifists: they’ll fight when needed. The best model in terms of how I believe they act is Obi Wan Kenobi - he’ll always give a chance for his opponents to rethink their actions, but if they’re committed to bad actions, he’ll do what’s necessary to stop them.

ProsecutorGodot
2021-01-07, 10:09 PM
Hey, it's a bit out of date but I wrote a guide here (https://forums.giantitp.com/showthread.php?583098-Violence-as-a-Last-Resort-A-Guide-to-the-Oath-of-Redemption-Paladin) about playing one.

There are a few instances where my opinion has changed on the strength of certain spells or features but it's still fairly accurate, I've played my current Redemption Paladin from level 6 to 18 now in Dungeon of the Mad Mage.

If Tasha's expanded spell lists are an option, I highly recommend investing on some platinum rings for Warding Bond ahead of time if you can manage, it's fantastic in effect and theme for this type of Paladin.

GreyBlack
2021-01-07, 11:16 PM