PDA

View Full Version : RAI: Nondetection

FrancisBean
2021-01-29, 12:23 PM
How do you handle Nondetection in your games? RAW, the spell is a bit of a mess.

For the duration, you hide a target that you touch from divination magic. The target can be a willing creature or a place or an object no larger than 10 feet in any dimension. The target can't be targeted by any divination magic or perceived through magical scrying sensors.

RAW analysis

I'm only getting into RAW analysis to show why I don't think we should simply take the spell as written. I'm not interested in a lot of nit-picky parsing, I just want a functional table interpretation. I know this thread is going to devolve into some RAW argument, but please, let's try to keep that to a minimum, folks. It's only germane insofar that it proves that there are clear, reasonable disagreements, and that's what leads to arguments at table.

In most descriptions, the first part is fluff while the follow-on is actual mechanics. That is, it’s saying that the spell hides a target from divination magic, and it does this by making it impossible to target you or perceive you through scrying sensors.(*)

The scrying aspect is perfectly clear, although it does provide a way to determine if somebody is under the effects of Nondetection: if you can see them with your eyes but not with Clairvoyance, they’re under Nondetection. It’s also a bit of a giveaway when you see someone else holding a conversation with empty air.

The bigger problem is the non-targetability. By far the vast majority of divination spells target the caster or a willing creature, and expand the senses of the target in some way. Not being an eligible target for divination magic means your friends can’t cast Guidance on you. You can’t cast Commune. You can’t partake in Rary’s Telepathic Bond. It’s actually an enormous penalty, not a benefit.