PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Avrae Vs Beyond 20... which is the better bot?

dehro
2021-02-10, 03:05 AM
I'm starting to run a game via discord.
So far I've done session 0 using DnDBeyond for character sheets, Roll20 for maps and dicerolls and google meet/skype for videochat, because I found the roll20 videochat to be lacking.

I'm new to discord and I've found out that it's possible to integrate roll20 and discord with DDB character sheets to facilitate the various dicerolls using the bots Avrae or Beyond20.
I know Avrae is the official DDB bot, whereas Beyond20 is third party.

the question is..which is better? or should I use both for separate/different things?

if you too are using a similar setup, how do you connect the various elements of play on your virtual table?? which of the two bots/extensions do you use?

Tawmis
2021-02-10, 05:34 PM
If you're running your game from D&D Beyond (your players have characters there) and Discord - and you have the resources there (Monster Manual, etc) - BEYOND20 is a god send.

Avare doesn't even begin to compare to how incredible Beyond20 is if you're using D&D Beyond + Discord.

Edit - for visual -

https://i.ibb.co/Xjdxddr/Image1.png

jaappleton
2021-02-10, 06:25 PM
I use Roll20 with Beyond 20, and it’s been amazing.

There’s a few minor gripes, like no way to trigger Booming Blade’s rider effect damage for when an enemy moves.

But overall it’s amazing. Makes things a LOT easier on the DM controlling monsters, and for players you can instantly put whole class features and spells into the chat so everyone can read them if they’re not familiar with it, etc.

There’s zero reason not to use it if you’re playing with DND Beyond and Roll20.

I don’t use Discord, so I can’t speak to how well it works there. But judging by the photos that the previous user posted, it works essentially the same as it does with Roll20.