PDA

View Full Version : Fast Paced/Simple Gun combat Rules?

blackjack50
2021-05-01, 04:27 PM
So I would like to set up a game around a few more modern settings. Y’all have convinced me 5e sucks for that. But I’d like to find some options so I can plan out a game. So here is what I’d like in the game rules and let’s see if anyone knows some games to help.

1) Simplicity: I am NOT very good with the combat side still. Like I’d be ok with even as simple as percentage dice rolled and adjusted based on circumstance.
2) Story is important. RP and planning are the major part. I’d like to incentivize smart plays over getting into combat BECAUSE
3) Combat should be risky. It should also be LESS risky the more you plan. Your characters plan an ambush on an unarmored vehicle with 3 Nazi SS officers who are maybe have pistols and are just heading into a bar? THAT combat is going to be over in about 3-5 seconds. But if you try to engage the 6 squads in the town head on with 4 guys after? You are going to get fired and maneuvered on by hard combat experienced enemies.
4) Faster paced. I don’t want to get bogged down in 30min of combat for a firefight that lasts 60 seconds in game world time.

I have a few spy stories and other westerns I’d love to adjust to an RPG. But I just haven’t found a simple/fast system. Certainly not something that is easy to pick up and grasp for my non mathematical brain.

Pauly
2021-05-01, 06:23 PM
How much detail do you want?

Are all pistols the same?
Do you split them into heavy/light?
Do you split them into several categories (light revolver, light automatic, heavy revolver, target pistol, superior pistol etc.)
Does each pistol have individual stats?

blackjack50
2021-05-01, 06:55 PM
How much detail do you want?

Are all pistols the same?
Do you split them into heavy/light?
Do you split them into several categories (light revolver, light automatic, heavy revolver, target pistol, superior pistol etc.)
Does each pistol have individual stats?