PDA

View Full Version : Political intrigue at a ball

Nemenia
2021-05-02, 11:25 AM
Hey guys! I have a session coming up where the players (who recently became nobility) are being invited to participate in one of the seasonal balls that every noble house goes to. These events are for celebration, but they're also where much of the political maneuvering and intrigue between the houses happen. The thing is, I'm really bad at coming up with social encounters, given that I'm not very good at them myself. I was really hoping you guys could give some great ideas, suggestions, or minihooks to use during the ball.

Some information:

The nation is primarily human, and while they're fine with the other humanoid races, they greatly dislike any nonstandard races.
They are at war with a neighboring nation that broke off from their empire a few years ago
The Regent will be in attendance and leading the ball

The noble houses are:
1. Ravenson. Control the nation's spies and thieves' guild
2. Caliban. The house in control of the trained military. IE cavalry, artillery, special forces, etc.
3. Hyllia. House that controls national guard. In charge of homeland defense, courts, and laws
4. Thornwell. House that currently holds the throne. Diplomats, historians, educators
5. Steinryk. Mage house. Runs magic school, regulates use of magic, its research, defense, etc.

The players are level 20 and just founded a new town that contains monstrous races as well as human ones. They are sympathetic to the nation that broke off from the empire, though not outright supporting them yet. They've met some but not all of the nobles, including the Regent.

What are some cool events, topics, problems, etc. That could come up during the night that arent all solved by "hit it with a sword"?

Cygnia
2021-05-02, 01:54 PM
1. Assassination attempt
2. Love affair between two rival houses (whose heads DO NOT WANT such an affair ever)