PDA

View Full Version : Feasible weapons?

rankrath
2007-11-11, 08:53 PM
I’m writing a sci-fi story for my creative writing class, and seeing as I have no real knowledge in physics to speak of, have come here for help designing ships/weapons.

As of now, the ships are mile long cigars, using rail-guns or something to propel a small chunk of highly dense matter at each other at near light speeds. These guns span the entire length of the ships, are basically magnets curled into a tube, and can be used to assist in interplanetary travel (using a planets magnetic field somehow)
Now, is this a good idea? How much energy would it require? How much damage would it do? Would magnets that large be possible to make?
Thanks in advance.

warty goblin
2007-11-11, 09:19 PM
Railguns are quite possible as weapons go. There's some things I would think about in the setting:

1) Do you want orbital bombardment? If not, I'd shy away from railguns, particularly those that fire projectiles close to light speed, since reletivistic bombardment is basically unstopable and is capable of destroying planets (or at least pretty much everything that lives on them). Another way to solve this problem is to use railguns, but make them smaller, so that even though they can target things on the surface of the planet, the individual rounds won't do such extreme damage.

2) How long do you want battles to last? If you don't want a "first to fire is the winner" type senario, I'd again shy away from this size of railgun, since a hit will most likely destroy pretty much anything- particularly if you don't have shields. Again, this problem can be solved by the use of smaller turreted railguns if you don't want energy weapons, since they would still be effective, but not one hit kill weapons.