PDA

View Full Version : Lycanthropy problem mostly solved

GodofThunder555
2021-05-11, 06:26 PM
I've been doing an online game for 10 months or so and a rather obnoxious thing happened on a random encounter. They were trucking through the desert and the random encounter generator had pre-rolled an encounter with weretigers. It was kinda low CR for a bunch of level 7's but I made it work. And the party was doing their usual thing, tearing the tigers apart and taking very little damage.

So I made a fateful decision. The weretigers were about to die, so they start throwing all caution to the wind and biting. Then, the dice happened. The weretigers rolled stupidly well, but only on their bite attacks. Five of seven party members got bit. Okay, no problem. Surely most of them make their saving throw, right? Wrong! Four out of five failed their save and got curse with lycanthropy. And at first, they're talking like you'd expect: "We'll need to get a Remove Curse spell cast on us ASAP!" Then they start looking into it and metagaming. Purely from the min-maxer point of view, there's really no downside to lycanthropy, you get a boost in STR and you gain something that is almost non-existent in 5E: Damage immunity.

Needless to say, I'm feeling stressed. Now I get to navigate a party where half the members are immune to all non-magical/non-silvered physical attacks forever. So I give myself to till the in-game full moon to figure it out. And by the time the full moon came, they head over to a goblin village and wait for the change. So ... I presented the "accepting lycanthropy" moment like this.