PDA

View Full Version : Optimization Brainstorming Storm Sorcery

Dalinar
2021-07-19, 09:16 AM
So I've been sitting on a character concept for a Storm Sorcerer ever since I started playing this game early this year. In the intervening time I've learned a lot about what makes a character effective, and Storm Sorcery, well, isn't exactly the pinnacle of magical power. But I still want to do my best to make it work. (Haven't asked my DM about additional spells known.) Our table usually runs T1-early T2 games.

Thing is, there are so many combos that *almost* work. Tempestuous Magic (you can spend your bonus action to fly 10ft without provoking OAs after casting a leveled spell) would work great with Booming Blade, except that it only applies to leveled spells, not cantrips. You could use Polearm Master and War Caster together with Booming Blade, then use Tempestuous Magic to get out of range and repeat--but Booming Blade doesn't work at reach, so you'd want a spear or quarterstaff, but then you have no good way of getting the Booming Blade rider, as it wears off at the start of your turn. You could combine Dissonant Whispers or Command with War Caster/Booming Blade, but 1. you have to go a bit out of your way to get those spells and 2. then there's no point in using Tempestuous Magic.

Basically, I want to maximize the value of being able to move out of OA range with my bonus action after casting a leveled spell. Unsure how to do that.

RogueJK
2021-07-19, 09:38 AM
Well, a Storm Sorcerer generally won't be focusing on being in melee anyway... But in general, if you really want ways to more reliably trigger BB's rider by using your Bonus Action to move away, there are options out there:

A) Telekinetic Feat gives you a BA shove effect to attempt to move an enemy 5 feet away

B) 2 levels of Rogue lets you Disengage with your Bonus Action