PDA

View Full Version : Need help understanding D&D Druids from an RP perspective

Haruspex_Pariah
2021-09-26, 03:30 AM
I picked a Druid because it looks kind of cool. Unfortunately I am a complete novice when it comes to roleplaying so I'm basically playing the equivalent of a one-miniature wargame. Which is not to say that I don't enjoy studying spell lists and class features, but I do want to get more into the roleplaying side of the roleplaying game.

Now I know that a character's personality doesn't depend entirely on their class, but given that druids in D&D are supposed to be all about the mission to protect nature and the balance of the elements(?) it seems to me that it would be at least a little important to the character. If a druid character deviates too far from drudic ideals then can they really be a druid? At least that's my concern.

Would a druid save a helpless village for money? For the sake of doing good? Or can I just tie it into a vague notion of "balance"?

OldTrees1
2021-09-26, 03:52 AM
Like many things, the diversity of characters within a class is great enough that there often is no answer to "Would a Druid do ___?"

D&D Druids are not necessarily "about a mission to protect nature" or "balance the elements".

A Druid generally has a deep enough understanding of natural lore and connection with the natural world that they can do druidic magic. Some Druids then conclude that the natural world should be respected and protected. Others conclude their control over the natural word means the natural world is theirs to order, use, and expend as they see fit.

Your character understands the natural world and has some kind of connection with it. What is their relationship with the natural world? Is nature like a parent to them? Do they consider themselves a steward? Is the natural world just an extension of their will?