PDA

View Full Version : Czaric campaign setting

Vuzzmop
2007-11-16, 05:09 PM
Tell me what you think of this. It's my first setting, as I'm new to DMing. Feel free to criticise:smallbiggrin: . It has elements of some other settings, as well as new mythology of my own.

The Superior realms of Grand Arbiter Czaric VII

This is a moderate magic, high psionics campaign setting I’m using for my game at the moment. The basic idea is a totalitarian and racist state, where humans are at a constant stalemate with the equally sinister Elves, and arcane spellcasters, and to a lesser extent divine spellcasters not under the control of Czaric are hunted down as scapegoats for the world’s troubles.

Races rarely intermingle in Czaric, as the humans and elves are constantly at war, and the dwarves, gnomes and Halflings seem content to stay out of the violence. Magic items are sold exclusively at black markets in human lands, but freely everywhere else.

Classes

As wizardry is mistrusted by the state, psionic classes occur more frequently. Warlocks are actively hunted by Czaric’s police.

Since I’m lazy, the pantheon I’m using so far is the greyhawk pantheon, but they are distant and their churches are few, so Clerics are more likely to follow an ideal. Paladins are champions of the people, working closely with farming communities outside of Czaric Major.

Races and homelands: (some names just placeholders until I find better ones)