PDA

View Full Version : 9th level bard?

Emon
2007-11-20, 10:35 AM
Im working on building a bard, planning on going bard 8 or 9/fighter for a couple levels and then progressing on to a prestige class to be determined at a later date.

Is going up to 9th level bard generally considered to be worth it, or should I stop at 8? Inspire greatness looks to me to be a good ability, though at 9th level i wouldnt progress in spells or BAB.

Im relatively new to DnD, and to date the only characters i've played have been pretty basic melee only, so I'm trying to learn what I can about building characters with spellcasting ability.

Thanks for any help

Azerian Kelimon
2007-11-20, 10:38 AM
If you want a totally amazing bard, screw spellcasting. Focus EVERY. Single. Skill point you can get on Perform, and abuse fascinate while your party buffs up for each encounter. Also, Inspire greatness isn't THAT great an ability, but it is nice to have. I'd get it.

Ganurath
2007-11-20, 10:39 AM
Well, this depends rather heavily on your bard's role in the party, what the other members of the party do, your play style, and your feat/skill/spell options for PrC requirements. In short, more info please while I read up some PrCs for you.

Green Bean
2007-11-20, 10:42 AM
If you want a totally amazing bard, screw spellcasting. Focus EVERY. Single. Skill point you can get on Perform, and abuse fascinate while your party buffs up for each encounter. Also, Inspire greatness isn't THAT great an ability, but it is nice to have. I'd get it.

Facinate isn't so good against ambushes or undead, though. One trick ponies tend to be boring to play, too.

Emon
2007-11-20, 11:08 AM