PDA

View Full Version : Mechanics From Other Editions

astuertz
2022-02-02, 06:07 PM
What mechanics or otherwise do you like to include in your 3.5e games?

Personally, I am revisiting 3.5 again for the first time in forever. I have been playing in and DMing 5e games constantly for the past several years, but recently got the itch to play 3.5 again, and so, am DMing a 3.5 game for my friends in the near future (as soon as it's fully set up).

I can't say much for house rules I will use as of yet, but I will most-likely utilize the Mob Combat Rules from 5e at some point, as I think it could work well in a 3.5 game (given that it works using minimum dice rolls and doesn't interact with AC or modifiers directly).

But I was curious, have you ever tried incorporating any rules, mechanics, or otherwise from other editions in your 3.5 games, and how well did it work? Feel free to rant on about House Rules or Homebrew Rules you commonly use in your 3.5 games as well.

Biggus
2022-02-02, 06:30 PM
I've borrowed some class abilities from 5E, such as Indomitable for the Fighter to help patch up their otherwise poor saving throws, and Stroke of Luck as the capstone ability for the Rogue, who currently has absolutely no reason to take their 20th level in a nonepic game.

From 4E I've taken the idea of three tiers of play, levels 1-10, 11-20 and 21+. I've shifted quite a few of the "epic" feats and prestige classes which aren't actually that epic at all to the middle tier, and a handful of the strongest normal feats into it also.

From 2E I sometimes use the "morale" mechanic for monsters, when I want to determine if an opponent flees or continues fighting.

From PF I've taken lots of stuff, too much to list here (and also independently arrived at the same solutions to broken mechanics as them several times), so much so that I'm considering changing to PF as the default system for my next campaign.

One Step Two
2022-02-02, 08:41 PM