PDA

View Full Version : Foreign Coin Identification

Dave Rapp
2007-11-23, 06:06 PM
Whilest going through a filing cabnet, a stumbled upon an old envelope which had about 20 coins inside. Several were canadian, but the ones shown here I wasn't sure where they came from. I was wondering, can anyone tell me what countries these coins are from, and, where it's not shown clearly, how much they are worth?

Warning, these images are pretty big, about 1500x1500 pixels each.

front-
http://i3.tinypic.com/8fpf0uo.jpg

reverse-
http://i7.tinypic.com/8e5u5tx.jpg

Dihan
2007-11-23, 06:35 PM
I assume number 6 is Dutch.

Trazoi
2007-11-23, 06:41 PM
I'm no coin expert, but since coins 5 and 7 say they're from Confederatio Helvetica I'm assuming they're Swiss Francs.

Em Blackleaf
2007-11-23, 06:44 PM
I think number one is Japanese, but I'm no coin expert.

Jensik
2007-11-23, 06:50 PM
6 is Dutch, guaranteed.

1, 3, and 4 have very similar (if not identical) symbols on them. They appear Japanese, but I can't be sure.

5 and 7, Trazoi seems to have the right idea.

2... not a clue, I'm defeated.

8, the two swords (religious symbol) and the writing indicate that it is from somewhere in the Middle East. Where exactly, I'm not sure.

Dihan
2007-11-23, 06:53 PM
Four is Japanese yen. Two is an Indian anna. Eight is a coin from Oman.

Dragonrider
2007-11-23, 07:18 PM
1 is Japanese - I don't know how you say it in that language but I recognized the Chinese character "guo" ("country") and the character before that signifies Japan.

2, I think someone else said, is Indian

3 is, as someone else said, yen...you can see some of the same characters around it.

4, same thing

5 looks EXTREMELY familiar, which means I probably have something like it in my foreign coin collection, but I can't place it and I have no idea where my box is :smalltongue:

6 says "Nederlanden"

7 no clue :smalltongue: