PDA

View Full Version : Pre-Made Adventures

kkortekaas
2007-11-27, 07:54 AM
Morning Folks,
I'm planning on finally starting up Cormyr: Tearing of the Weave on Friday, but I've got a slight problem...I'm scared I'm going to screw it up big time. See, normally when I create an adventure, I'm intimately familiar with it and can adlib to my hearts content, with CTotW I can't do that as much.

Can anyone suggest tips or suggestions in not only running CTotW but running premade store bought in general.

Much appreciated.

Hazkali
2007-11-27, 08:15 AM
As I've never run a pre-made adventure before, I don't have much advice other than don't make the same mistake that this guy does (http://www.feartheboot.com/comic/default.aspx?c=39).

:smallbiggrin:

AslanCross
2007-11-27, 08:24 AM
I'm a beginner DM, and up to now I've only run adventures I've made myself. I'm planning on running Hell's Heart (it's part of the current issue of Dungeon on the Wizards website) this Christmas break. I have to admit I'm a bit worried as the structure is very different from my simple, linear storylines, but I'm pretty excited about it. I'd suggest reading the whole thing and drinking in every detail. Know what the point of the adventure is. Try to figure out what will screw it up, and how your players would possibly interact with the adventure.

Though honestly, I don't think thinking about it too much will really help. One can only second-guess the players so much, after all.

Mr. Friendly
2007-11-27, 08:27 AM
Well, I just hope for you that Cormyr is better than every other module that WotC has released for the last 2 years and does not include massive typos, incorrect stats, wrong maps and the host of other problems that their modules seem to perpetually suffer.

F.L.
2007-11-27, 09:01 AM
At the last minute, replace CTotW with the Tomb of Horrors? Should get you out of the DM'ing task for a long while...

Jimbob
2007-11-27, 09:14 AM