PDA

View Full Version : New campaign: need support character options to make youth newbie shine

FrancisBean
2022-06-29, 11:56 PM
I'm joining a new campaign with a youth player who is a complete novice. He'll be playing some sort of "I hit it in the face a lot!" character -- I'm assuming Fighter, Barbarian, or maybe Paladin. No, I don't get a say in the choice and I don't know exactly what that'll be.

We'll be playing Tomb of Annihilation. No, I don't get a vote on that -- it's already carved in stone.

I'm trying to come up with a character option I can use to make him look awesome. We've already got someone running a healer (Celestial Warlock), so I'm looking for things which will synergize well with him, even if he's got a Champion Fighter. Any ideas?

A few constraints: My last character was a Shield Master build, so I'd rather try something new. (Even though knocking enemies on their butts in front of him would fit the bill!) I'm also not willing to play the party face, so think in terms of "No Charisma Needed" builds.

My thoughts:

Battlemaster seems obvious, with maneuvers like Commander's Strike, Feinting Attack, Trip Attack, maybe Grappling Strike and Goading Attack. It could even work as a ranged build, although Str-based front-line is more straight-forward.
Mastermind with Master of Tactics would let me basically hand him advantage on his first attack each round for most of the game. Also works as a ranged build.
Artificer would let me keep him well-supplied with fancy weapons and armor.
Grave Domain Cleric shouldn't be overlooked, as Path to the Grave hands him double damage for the cost of a Channel Divinity. But that's only 2/LR early on.