PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Is there a list of what books have new race/class options, new monsters, items, etc?

Odessa333
2022-09-12, 02:10 PM
This might be a touch newbie here, but I'm book poor and wondering what 5E books have what for content. Like, which books are 'just' modules (just feels wrong here...) and which books gives new classes, races, spells, monsters, items, etc. Is there an easy way to filter this kind of information?

For relevance, if I am to start running games on a virtual table top like roll20, which books do I buy to have the best options both for me and the players?

Atranen
2022-09-12, 06:14 PM
They're all kind of mixed; adventures generally have new monsters, settings books have new spells & items, etc.

That said, if you're mostly interested in player options, the first books to look at are the PHB, Xanathar's Guide to Everything, and Tasha's Cauldron of Everything; the latter two are sort of 'rules patch' books which are primarily made up of player options (and reprint player options introduced in other books). That should give you more than enough to play with. If you or your players read about other options you want to try online, then that would be a good time to get the relevant books.

Khrysaes
2022-09-12, 07:40 PM
They're all kind of mixed; adventures generally have new monsters, settings books have new spells & items, etc.

That said, if you're mostly interested in player options, the first books to look at are the PHB, Xanathar's Guide to Everything, and Tasha's Cauldron of Everything; the latter two are sort of 'rules patch' books which are primarily made up of player options (and reprint player options introduced in other books). That should give you more than enough to play with. If you or your players read about other options you want to try online, then that would be a good time to get the relevant books.