PDA

View Full Version : Setting up a Wilderness Stronghold Campaign

Yora
2022-10-11, 06:32 AM
After almost nine years running campaigns set in a setting that I had tailored to provide lots of opprtunities for dungeon crawling in ways that feel natural and believable, I now feel really ready to start with something completely new. What I want to run next is a campaign that centers around the PCs establishing, expanding, and defending a small stronghold on the edge of civilization. I feel in love with that idea since I started playing the videogame Kenshi, and now learning how to run Forbidden Lands really makes me want to make such a campaign happening. Pathfinder's Kingmaker also began with something of that kind, but I am really not familiar with that one.

I only did a very little bit of that like 12 years ago in a campaign with rotating GMs because the last adventure just happened to end in a cleared out bandit keep, but we didn't get to do a whole lot with it. So I am looking for any kind of input on the concept and thougts on the early ideas I have.

The first thing that I already decided on as a first thing is that I want the campaign to be about the players controlling the home base of their party, not to be the rulers governing the population of a small domain. I think administration and management isn't fun doing it on paper, and it also really isn"t much of a group activity. One PC being lord and the other players waiting while the lord manages his domain just doesn't seem like a fun game, and having the PCs take care of different duties also still has the players doing their separate things individually, one at a time.