PDA

View Full Version : Medium Armor Master is a decent feat- for an absolute beginner.

diplomancer
2023-01-22, 08:37 AM
So, my 8 year old nephew has discovered my brother's old TSE-era D&D books and became fascinated by them. So much that I decided to gift him the PHB in our native language. 1st thing he said, after screaming with delight, was "I've got to make my character"

So I decided to help him, asked him first what race he wanted to be: human. Ok, now let's read the brief class descriptions, what do you want to be? A Ranger. Ok, we've rolled the dice and he got a lot of even rolls, so I decided to make a V. Human, and then at the end just choose a feat for him

Having finished making his character, went to take a look at the PHB feats, and realized how at once simple and effective getting Medium Armor Master would be. My nephew told me he wanted to be good at sneaking, so he'd chosen the leather armor, giving him 14 AC. But if he got Medium Armor Master and Scale Mail, he'd have 17 AC and still be good at sneaking.

So, +3 to his AC, and he doesn't even need to think about it or understand complicated mechanics. It's absolutely true that other feats could be more effective, but I don't think any other could be at once this effective at his current level 1 and also this simple to use, just put the proper number on your sheet and you're done.

What do you guys think? Good idea? Some other suggestion that would be simple enough for an 8 year old kid who's making his first character? My other choice was alert-definitely a better feat, and simple enough, but one that would require him to remember and understand more game rules.

Mastikator
2023-01-22, 08:43 AM
Let him play what he wanted to play.

diplomancer
2023-01-22, 08:47 AM
Let him play what he wanted to play.