PDA

View Full Version : Player Help Having trouble at the table and need advice if I should leave or not

Karos
2023-06-15, 03:30 AM
Thanks in advance for reading this long post but here goes,

So, my friends and I have been playing a 5e campaign for about 5 months now.

We have 9 players (the 9th was added recently) in the group and our gm is still pretty new, I think this is his first long-term campaign. I talked to him about 2 months ago, telling him what parts of the campaign I was having issues with and tried to give him advice. He did improve on some of the stuff I told him about.

One issue is the party size. We have 9 players which is a lot for new dms. All the players at the table are friends and we'll hang out outside of DND and it's a lot of fun. But most of them range from just starting to having played a couple one shots previously. This creates a lot of cross talk or confusion at the table, also increasing time spent in combat. This creates a pretty chaotic environment. It is hard for me to be able to play and a few times I left the games with headaches.

A majority of the session feels like a slog, especially in combat but do still have their highlights. The issue is that as we continue to play, the session becomes uncomfortable because he makes a ruling that feels weird or uninteresting.

For example, the ranger in our party had cast the sleep spell and knocked out an allosaurus and rolled well for a survival/animal handling check to secure ropes around it so it could become like an animal companion. The DM decided that it would be "too strong" and made a weird percentile roll heavily stacked against the ranger. The ranger failed and the dm decided that the animal was improperly tied and it suffocated to death.