PDA

View Full Version : Character Concept: Creepy Good Kenku?

Riftwolf
2023-10-07, 05:38 PM
After reading the Kenku mimicry ability, I thought it sounded like an unsettling thing to play a cursed echolaliac who didn't speak with their own voice. Then I read how Mystics could bypass the speaking part of communication, which made it even creepier (A silent mimic who speaks to your thoughts directly), then looking at the skillsets available for Mystics and the more interesting ones were... even more unsettling? Like implanting psychic lies the target has to believe? Rewriting memories and going through days worth of surface memories? Functional invisibility by making a target forget you're there? I started putting together a creepy backstory of a Kenku trained to start wars through falsifying evidence and manipulation.
However, I'm not good at being evil. Even my current character is Neutral Evil on paper but I've yet to do anything seriously evil (I did shock the party at one point by suggesting I'd turn on them if I found out we were on opposite sides of a war). So then I thought the Kenku Mystic was fully trained to work as an infiltrator but once out of his handler's control he chose peace instead, and wanted to use his powers for benevolent purposes.
My question is: how? Can a character literally built around creepiness and layers of psychic deception use his powers to help people? Would such acts be considered good? Or lawful?
Thoughts?

Anymage
2023-10-08, 04:26 AM
That's a hard skillset to turn towards good, but sabotaging evil organizations and possibly having some of their resources redirected towards good folk might count. Might not be 100% good himself (mindscrewing the bad guys is not something you generally see good groups being built around), but still able to hang with a generally heroic party without anything feeling too off.

Arkhios
2023-10-08, 04:44 AM