PDA

View Full Version : Seeking GM Threads

DarkOmens67
2023-11-07, 11:56 AM
Just a little rant.

As an OK DM/ST, it drives me nuts when I see 'Seeking DM' threads.

Ok, looking for someone to take over because the previous one left, I get it. These are not the threads that befuddle me.

1. Why ask for a DM and then proceed to provide your personal 'BIG 16'? Why not allow the prospective DM have the freedom to make options and choices? I have been gaming for over 30 years and have never encountered a storyteller that accepted so many parameters by a single player.

2. If a person has that many specifications, why not create their own campaign world and run the game themselves? Every DM/ST/GM started somewhere. We fell, made mistakes, some loved our campaigns while others hated them. Today the population of DMs is decreasing and people with grand ideas are needed to step in.

I'm sure there is more to say, but I'm trying to be nice.

KillianHawkeye
2023-11-07, 02:10 PM
Why ask for a DM and then proceed to provide your personal 'BIG 16'?

Are we meant to guess at what this is supposed to mean? "Big 16" what? :smallconfused:

Anyway, being frustrated is normal, but I'm not sure what you expect to get out of this post. People have the right to be picky if they want to be, as long as they remember that beggars can't be choosers. But also, knowing what you want out of a DM doesn't necessarily equate to being a good DM. It's much harder to actually do it than it is to critique it (as with anything, really).

But I do agree that every player should at least try out being a DM, if for nothing else than to gain a little perspective of what it's like on the other side of the screen. Not everyone can really be a DM, though. It requires a lot of work behind the scenes, and many people either can't or won't do that work. So it really isn't fair to say "if you don't like my DMing, DM it yourself" or whatever.

JNAProductions
2023-11-07, 02:41 PM
Just a little rant.