PDA

View Full Version : Why can't you powergame and roleplay?

Dorizzit
2007-12-24, 08:13 AM
Exactly the same as the title. The general thought seems to be that you can't powergame and roleplay an interesting character at the same time. Why?

Emperor Demonking
2007-12-24, 08:15 AM
I don't think anyone still thinks that.

Armads
2007-12-24, 08:15 AM
You can. I don't have the link to the stormwind fallacy now, but it basically addresses this question.

Dorizzit
2007-12-24, 08:17 AM
Ah, that's good.

nerulean
2007-12-24, 08:26 AM
You can. The observation was initially based on the fact that there are a lot of people who choose to do either one or the other. For example...

Often, someone who has a clear concept of a character in mind will take feats that they think suit the character, even if they're mechanically not very good or just don't synergise well with each other. When I started playing D&D, I gave my first level fighter toughness. It's a bad feat, but at that point I didn't know it, and the fact that this character was tough and sturdy and could take a punch was absolutely fundamental to his persona. This is roleplaying at the expense of stats.

If all I wanted to do was make a character who was kickass awesome, I could have made a spiked chain fighter, which wouldn't have suited the idea of the character at all, but who cares, he's awesome! This is powergaming at the expense of roleplaying.

Now, if I was going to make the very same character I started with, I definitely wouldn't take toughness, but nor would I give him a spiked chain. I'd choose a powerful set of statistics that nevertheless suited the concept of what the character should be like, perhaps something along the shock trooper line. Most of the people who like D&D enough to discuss it on forums are pretty much at the same stage of roleplay/rollplay balance.

Arakune
2007-12-24, 08:37 AM
You can, but you can't munchkin and roleplay by definition.