PDA

View Full Version : Help for devising a Tomb

GryffonDurime
2008-01-27, 04:24 PM
So, I've finally got a campaign going. My players loved the first session, and it's kind of set a certain pattern: I started shooting from the hip.

Everything that happened in this session was impromptu, and only vaguely planned, and I discovered that...I guess that works for me. I knew I wanted to have the town be ferociously independant. I knew hags were involved, and that a large covey was protecting the town the players were in.

Now, I have to come up with something for the next session.

We've established that the next town on the players' journey will be the wizard's home town, and the place of his family's estate and tomb. The obvious temptation is that there's something afoot, either in the tomb or in his family's ancestral mansion...but he's the only one left of the clan. So I come to you, now, playgrounders, in search of ideas to help me expand upon this conundrum: I'm probably going to try and shoot from the hip again, with a rough idea of what any given character can do and what's going to happen so I can feel better about myself when the players invariably do something entirely different. So, ideas on what can be happening in this otherwise quiet little village?

Solo
2008-01-27, 04:31 PM
Google "Tomb of Horrors" for some inspiration :p

TheLogman
2008-01-27, 04:39 PM
Make sure that it is older in style, moldy, and most importantly, somehow filled with magic. Traps are a must, especially Fire traps, Runes, and Symbols. The monsters in the Tomb should be Undead and Constructs.

GryffonDurime
2008-01-27, 04:46 PM
The problem isn't so much what to fill the Tomb with per se...the problem is "Why is it attacking someone who owns the Tomb?" It's the party wizard's ancestral tomb. Fairly sacred, since they're members of a long line of priest-caste.