PDA

View Full Version : Beguiler?

Yehomer
2008-01-28, 01:37 PM
I just finished reading the beguiler section in PHII, and all I've got to say is WTF? They took a sorcerer, gave him D6 HD, tons of cool abilities, a wide selection of spells and tons of class skills. Did I miss something, or is this class insanely unbalanced?!

Tempest Fennac
2008-01-28, 01:48 PM
I think the fact that just about all of their spells get Will saves is potentially a huge weakpoint, as is the fact that they mainly use Illusion and Enchantments (I'm new to D&D, and I'm playing one in a solo game, but I can't tell you if it's overpowered yet).

Fax Celestis
2008-01-28, 01:48 PM
Take a look again and try to figure out a way for a beguiler to be effective against an opponent who is immune to mind-affecting spells and/or various status effects. The beguiler's sneaky, sure, but they're not very good in the killin' things department. They do, however, make spectacular thieves and infiltrators.

Duke of URL
2008-01-28, 02:00 PM
Take a look again and try to figure out a way for a beguiler to be effective against an opponent who is immune to mind-affecting spells and/or various status effects.

Well, UMD is a class skill...

Yehomer
2008-01-28, 02:03 PM
He can charm\ dominate other stuff to kill them.
Well, he might be slightly balanced in a kick in the door campaign, but in a campaign like I play, where most encounters are against humanoids, and diplomacy is a factor, he would be a god :S

Draz74
2008-01-28, 02:08 PM
I just finished reading the beguiler section in PHII, and all I've got to say is WTF? They took a sorcerer, gave him D6 HD, tons of cool abilities, a wide selection of spells and tons of class skills. Did I miss something, or is this class insanely unbalanced?!

Well, yes, it is insanely unbalanced ... but not necessarily more than the Sorcerer itself. :smalltongue: