View Full Version : Mount charge or you charge? or both?

2008-02-14, 12:03 PM
When your mount charges (with you on it), you receive all the benefits (and drawbacks, such as -2 AC) on the charge. If a Paladin's Special Mount charges with the Paladin on it, can the Paladin use Shock Trooper and Leap attack?

Tokiko Mima
2008-02-14, 01:58 PM
You are adept at breaking up formations of soldiers when you rush into battle.

Prerequisite: Improved Bull Rush, Power Attack, base attack bonus +6.
Benefit: The Shock Trooper feat enables the use of three tactical maneuvers.
Directed Bull Rush: To use this maneuver, you must make a successful bull rush attempt as part of a charge. For every square you push your foe hack, you may also push that foe one square to the left or right.
Domino Rush: To use this maneuver, you must make a successful bull rush attempt that forces a foe into the same square as another foe. You may make a free trip attempt against both foes at the same rime, and neither foe gets a chance to trip you if your attempt fails.
Heedless Charge: To use this maneuver, you must charge and make the attack at the end of the charge using your Power Attack feat. The penalty you take on your attack roll must be -5 or worse. In addition to normal charge modifiers (which give you a -2 penalty to AC and a +2 bonus on the attack roll), you can assign any portion of the attack roll penalty from Power Attack to your Armor Class instead, up to a maximum equal to your base attack bonus.
Special: A fighter may select Shock Trooper as one of his fighter bonus feats.

You can combine a powerful charge and a mighty leap into one devastating attack.

Prerequisite: Jump 8 ranks, Power Attack.

Benefit: You can combine a jump with a charge against an opponent. If you cover at least 10 feet of horizontal distance with your jump, and you end your jump in a square from which you threaten your target, you can double the extra damage dealt by your use of the Power Attack feat. If you use this tactic with a two-handed weapon, you instead triple the extra damage from Power Attack.

This attack must follow all the normal rules for using the Jump skill and for making a charge, except that you ignore rough terrain in any squares you jump over.

Shock trooper, sure. I think you have to leap yourself for Leap attack and whether or not you can execute a leap while mounted at the end of a charge is up to debate. Maybe if you had that swift action Leap manuever (Sudden Leap?) from the Tiger Claw school?

2008-02-14, 02:00 PM
What if your mount also had Leap Attack?

2008-02-14, 03:00 PM
You can use Shock Trooper while mounted. It's pretty common to use a lance two handed, Power Attack, Spirited Charge, and Shock Trooper together for a +6 per BAB bonus to damage, with a -1 per BAB penalty to AC.

You cannot use Leap Attack while mounted, as the feat clearly requires "you cover at least 10 feet of horizontal distance with If you cover at least 10 feet of horizontal distance with your jump." Not your mount's Jump. You could conceivably Jump off of your mount to attack, but then you'd cease to be mounted.

If the mount has Leap Attack, the mount can gain the Leap Attack bonus to its attack, assuming that your mount is capable of Jumping. But nothing in the feat transfers those bonuses to its rider.