PDA

View Full Version : Dm alignment decisions.

Svethnika
2008-02-18, 04:56 PM
Hey guys,

I'm new to DMing (I just did my second session last night in fact) and I'm trying to decide if I should change the alignment of one of my player's characters. He is supposed to be neutral good but his character is becoming quite a scoundrel. First some background, in my story the PCs all met in a mercenary guild and got a contract to retrieve a relic from a monastery. The place was being attacked by hobgoblins and varags who wanted loot and the relic for their home village which could use the agricultural benefits the relic bestows.

There are three events are making me think that this fighter's alignment might need to change from neutral good. Not so much because they are evil acts but because perhaps they are not really good.

1) While going though one of the buildings the monks sleep in he destroyed a locked chess and took some potions that belonged to the monks.

2) The hobgoblins had held up some children and an elder for questioning and because they didn't fight back. The PCs charge into the room, smashing through the church part of the monastery's windows. The hobgoblins told them not to come closer and told them to get lost or they'd kill the kids(I had wanted to see if they would try to negotiate and see how they reacted) His character told the hobgoblins he'd actually like to join them in torturing the kids (the hobgoblins weren't torturing the kids) This is the real point of contention. That one of the kids got his neck slashed because the guy kept moving forward even though the hobgoblins warned him to back off three times, is a lesser issue.

3) When he knocked out one of the hobgoblins and questioned him he learnt that he was attacking the monastery because his captain had led him there. The hobgoblin begged to have his life sparred but he slashed its neck after he was done with it instead of tying him up.