PDA

View Full Version : HTML Within an Image



Neftren
2008-03-02, 10:08 PM
Okay, my addled mind can no longer remember the coding required to place a link within an image... so that when you click the picture, the link pops up. Anyone care to refresh my memory? I don't feel like Googling it.

Jack Squat
2008-03-02, 10:27 PM
Okay, my addled mind can no longer remember the coding required to place a link within an image... so that when you click the picture, the link pops up. Anyone care to refresh my memory? I don't feel like Googling it.

well, this board doesn't use HTML, but the code you need is

your image (your link)

Neftren
2008-03-02, 10:31 PM
well, this board doesn't use HTML, but the code you need is

your image (your link)

the vB forum script is based off HTML. Literally character for character. Just swap out the brackets with greater and less than signs. But thank you.

Guildorn Tanaleth
2008-03-02, 11:05 PM
the vB forum script is based off HTML. Literally character for character. Just swap out the brackets with greater and less than signs. But thank you.

Firstly, it's called BBCode, and secondly, HTML doesn't have a URL tag, non-empty IMG tags, LIST tags with items denoted with <*>, QUOTE tags, SPOILER tags, EMAIL tags, or any of the other conveniences & simplifications of BBCode (which, conversely, is also lacking in a large number of HTML tags).

Bayar
2008-03-03, 03:02 AM
for HTML it is:

<a href="link"> <img src="image location"> </a>

Note that the middle part can be substituted with words, like LINK, Home, stuff like that without <>

At least, that is how I remember the HTML code...

Neftren
2008-03-03, 10:33 AM
for HTML it is:

<a href="link"> <img src="image location"> </a>

Note that the middle part can be substituted with words, like LINK, Home, stuff like that without <>

At least, that is how I remember the HTML code...

Finally, someone who is helpful. Thank you bayar, that's exactly how I remembered it... except I kept dropping "src" which ended up bugging the whole line when I was writing up my website. Thanks!

And Guildorn, please learn to read carefully. I said it was [I]based[/] off it, not the same. If it was the same, then people would be using < and > not [ and ]. Thank you.

Rawhide
2008-03-03, 03:46 PM
Firstly, HTML and bbCode are completely different, simply swapping the brackets or greater than and less than signs will not work. ie. the code for an image in bbCode is image.url, but the html required for an image is <img src="image.url">

The thread was in the wrong forum, this forum is for issues you are having with the local board or the site.

This would have been much quicker and easier had it been Googled. Here's a very helpful site: www.htmlcodetutorial.com

Not only has the original question been answered, but I'm not fond of some of the replies, so I'm going to lock this thread now.