PDA

View Full Version : Music Composers?

Castaras
2008-03-07, 08:44 AM
Any music composers around this place?

Basic problem I'm having - I've been given in my Music GCSE a specific criteria to compose a piece of music in. But the past 4-5 weeks, I have managed to write a grand total of 4 bars of music.

Nothing's working, I'll write something, then the next week I'll hate it and delete it.

Just wondering if there's any good ways to break this writer's musician's block...

AmberVael
2008-03-07, 08:47 AM
>.>
<.<

So did they just say "hey! Write music!" and leave it at that? Are you composing a solo? Duet? For an entire orchestra or band?
As for breaking musician's block... mneeeeeh... I've never found a good way. >.>

Capt'n Ironbrow
2008-03-07, 09:06 AM
I'm a musician and a song-writer, but not a composer who makes scores(okay, only the chords). I do have some knowledge on musical theory (harmony, scales, measures), so if you tell the criterea I might be able to help you.
I do have some general advice though: Write what you want to hear as an excersise or starting point. It might not fit the criterea, but it's practice and you might make a usefull discovery for use in your official piece. It also gets you from the composersblock. It doesn't matter if it sounds too much like something else, or has a silly bridge, as long as you got those creative juices flowing.
Writing music can be a struggle, and learning to do it well is a road of trial (do it!) and error.

Take it as if you're making a comic strip. You'll first have to make sketches of what the characters, locations and other visual things will look like (the "musical key and scale"), then you do a scenario (basic structure), followed by a first draft (basic melody). and if that's good, you can start inking and colouring (All the musical frills you want to include like tremelo, crescendo, harmony etc.).